Platform and tools

Managing access in MyTomTom

Introduction

User and access management is a key feature of MyTomTom that enables customers to collaborate securely.

We have recently improved the access management tool to provide greater granularity and transparency regarding what users are allowed to do.

Multi-user access requires a contracted (enterprise) account
Collaboration and user management are currently only available for contracted (enterprise) customers.

They are not available on Freemium or Pay As You Grow accounts. These are single-user accounts: you cannot invite other users to them, and the cogwheel menu described below is not shown, so the steps on this page do not apply. Buying credits for a Pay As You Grow account does not enable multi-user access.

If you need several people to work on the same projects and API keys, contact sales about a contract. We are working on making this feature available to Freemium and Pay As You Grow customers as well.

In MyTomTom, you can access the Access Management page from the cogwheel menu located next to the project dropdown.

MyTomTom demo
Access management page

To access this page, you will need to have the right permission.

Note: Before inviting a new user to MyTomTom, the user must first have access to TomTom services via SSO. See Managing access with Single Sign-On (SSO) for the onboarding process.

From the Access Management page, you can take actions related to the current project you are in:

  • Invite new users
  • Review pending access requests
  • View and edit current user access
  • Remove users

Granting or editing access

Once you click on a user, you will see the list of available permissions (based on your project and the included tools):


Permission summary

For each permission, you can view the current access level and the available options.

For example, for API & SDK key management, you can choose between the following access levels:

  • None. The user cannot see or manage API & SDK keys.
  • View. Allows a user to see the available keys, including their name, ID, configuration details and the actual key secret.
  • View / edit. Allows a user to create new keys, in addition to the permissions included in View.
  • View / rotate / delete. Allows all previous actions, as well as performing destructive operations such as rotating or deleting existing keys.

This page allows customers to control user access within a project with a high level of granularity.